What Punishment Do I Face for Driving without Insurance?
If one drives without proof of insurance, a violation of Vehicle Code § 16028, the punishment is rather straight forward. This is an infraction, not a misdemeanor or felony.
On a first offense, the court will order that the client pay a minimum fine of $100, to a maximum of $200. Penalties and assessments are added to the fine. On a $100 fine, the total payment will be roughly $450. On a $200 fine, the total payment will be approximately $900.In a Nutshell: Driving without insurance is more of a regulatory violation than a crime and as such, is an infraction, not a misdemeanor. To have a chance of having this charge dismissed, show up to court with proof of insurance.
On a second conviction occurring within years of the first conviction, the minimum fine that a judge can order is $200, plus penalties and assessments. The maximum fine that the judge can order is $500, which we have never seen imposed. If it is imposed, however, the penalties and assessments will make the total fine nearly $2,500.
There are other consequences if the case involves a car accident. When this happens, the client faces personal liability in a civil case if found at fault, for the injuries and property damage to the other party or parties. More importantly perhaps, the DMV will suspend the client’s driver’s license for four years. After one year, the client can request the license back in a restricted status if he or she shows proof of insurance to the DMV, pays a $125 license reissuance fee.
A further consequence with the DMV, even if one is not involved in a car accident, is that if one does not have automobile insurance, the DMV will suspend the vehicle registration. The DMV is also within its power to do this if you cancel your auto insurance and do not obtain a new policy with 45 days or one buys a new car and insurance or it is not obtained within thirty days. The DMV can also suspend the vehicle registration if one provides false proof of insurance.
The most immediate problem with driving without proof of insurance is that the police can order the car impounded. This is not done in every case.
As one may suspect, the best thing for a client to do in response to such a charge is obtain insurance, bring, proof of it to court and present this to the judge and/or prosecutor. When this happens, the case is often dismissed, sometimes only after the client pays minimal court fees.
In handling such cases on behalf of those who are not U.S. citizens, this charge often is charged with a failure to drive with a valid driver’s license. The two charges went together, it seemed. However, now with the passage of AB 60, which became effective January 1, 2015, someone who is not a U.S. citizen can obtain a California driver’s license, and presumably, also insurance. To obtain such a license, one must show proof of identity as well as proof of residency in California. No social security number is required to obtain a license under the new law.
We mention this new law in the context of driving without insurance because one who is seeking insurance is often asked, by the insurance company or insurance broker, for his or her driver’s license number. It is consequently smart to obtain such a license.
For more information about traffic offenses, click on the following articles:
Contact Greg Hill & Associates